International Advisory Committee


Distinguished experts in the field of lead-acid battery research and manufacture are invited to join the International Advisory Committee of each LABAT Conference. They are asked to advise and assist the Local Organizing Committee on the following issues:

  • Recommend scientists and experts from research institutes and companies who would be interested to attend the event and contribute to the technical program of the conference.
  • Suggest ideas and give recommendations for the organization and successful accomplishment of the Conference goals.
  • Give their rating of the three most distinguished scientists who should compete for the Gaston Plantè Medal award. 


Dr. Paolina Atanassova Cabot Corporation, USA
Mr. Gordon C. Beckley Hammond Group Inc., USA
Dr. Timothy W. Ellis RSR Technologies, USA
Prof.Dr. Juergen Garche Fuel Cell and Battery Consulting - FCBAT, Germany
Dr. Herbert K. Giess Consultant, France
Prof.Dr. Noubumitsu Hirai National Institute of Technology, Japan
Prof.Dr. Shou-Nan Hua Shandong University, China
Dr. Shashikant Joshi Greenvision Technologies Pvt Ltd., India
Dr. Angel Kirchev Institut National de I'Energie Solaire - INES RDI, France
Prof.Dr. Haibo Lin Jilin University, China
Dr. Geoffrey J. May Focus Battery Consulting, United Kingdom
Prof.Dr. Vesselin Naidenov IEES, Bulgarian Academy of Sciences, Bulgaria
Mr. John R. Pierson Pierson Consulting, USA
Mr. Ajoy Raychaudhuri Battery & Recycling Foundation International, India
Dr. Bernhard Riegel HOPPECKE Batterien GmbH & Co. KG, Germany
Dr. Masanori Sakai Hitachi Chemical Co., Ltd., Japan
Dr. Edward O. Shaffer II Advanced Battery Concepts, LLC, USA
Mr. Kevin M. Smith East Penn Mfg. Co., Inc., USA
Dr. Jesus Valenciano Exide Technologies, Spain
Prof. Petr Vanysek Brno University of Technology, Czech Republic
Prof.DrSc. Alexander B. Velichenko Ukrainian State University, Ukraine
Dr. Rainer Wagner Akkumulatorenfabrik MOLL GmbH & Co.KG, Germany
Prof.Dr. Larbi Zerroual Université Ferhat ABBAS - Setif 1, Algeria